Activity: OtherTypes of External academic engagement - Contribution to the work of national or international committees and working groups


Every two years, Impact Awards honour six trailblazing individuals who engage their own communities with creative works that are relevant, urgent and inspiring.

This year’s Awardees are: Ailton Krenak, Brazil; María Medrano, Argentina; Luis Manuel Otero Alcántara, Cuba; May al-Ibrashy, Egypt; Hassan Darsi, Morocco and Alain Gomis, Senegal.

Representing a variety of fields, from architecture, poetry and philosophy to visual and performance art, these individuals dedicate their work to addressing political and environmental issues, the nature of identity and human rights in forms that engage and empower their own communities.

Meet these remarkable cultural practitioners who exemplify the transformative power of art!

For this year’s Awards, 94 nominations were initially received. Nominations are thoroughly researched and a final selection is decided by an independent jury. The Prince Claus Impact Awards Jury is an International and independent body of five cultural professionals.

This year’s jury is comprised of the chair, curator Pablo Leon de la Barra; architect and 2019 Prince Claus Laureate Mariam Kamara; dancer, choreographer, storyteller and 2007 Prince Claus Laureate Faustin Linyekula; multimedia artist and 2010 Prince Claus Laureate Dinh Q. Lê; curator Maya El Khalil.
Period7 Dec 2022
Held atPrince Claus Impact Awards, Netherlands
Degree of RecognitionInternational


  • Impact
  • Consultation
  • Awards
  • Culture
  • Funds
  • Reports